Just the other day I bought a cute scarf and was pretty proud of myself for finding such a good deal on it.  After arriving back home I went to count my change and realized the cashier had given me five dollars extra.  I was thrilled!  I had a gotten a free scarf.  But then it hit me.  Should I go back and return it?  I mean it’s only five dollars and its probably not worth all the trouble anyways.  I’ve supported the store before and it would probably cost five dollars in gas just to get there and back again.  It’s not like I’m going to go to hell for keeping five dollars.  But would I risk heaven?  Could my chance of getting into heaven be endangered if I keep this five dollar bill?  What is the right thing to do?  It’s better to be honest than to lie and when I meet Jesus He might ask me, “Monica, why didn’t you honestly return the money?”  So I decided to go back and return it, but at that point I still had hope that maybe she would let me keep it anyways.  When arrived back at the store I told the situation to the cashier and gave that five dollar bill back.  Although when I turned to leave I was empty handed, a thank-you-for-your-honesty reached my ears and I felt good inside.  Good because I did the right thing even though it was hard.  Now that it is all said and done I feel like I just passed a test.  By being honest in small and seemingly unimportant things I proved not only to Jesus, but also to myself that I can be honest when big things come along.  How would I have the strength to tell the truth then, if I don’t practice now?  And in the future when I’m unsure what to do, as long as I am honest I won’t ever have to worry whether my choice is right or wrong.  Even if it is just five dollars.  How much is Heaven worth to me?

