Spending cold nights outside the store just to get inside first, physically fighting and shoving just to get the best deal, using up more time in line than the money saved could buy, so many people endure this just to get that best deal of the year.  Black Friday has become so big and important because people think that once they get what they think they need then they will be satisfied.  Even more so, the problem is that no matter how many good deals they get, they will still not be satisfied.  Nothing of this world will satisfy us.  This past Thanksgiving even though I wanted to keep eating the delicious food, I realized that even if I take one more bite, that bite will not eternally satisfy me.  No matter how much I drink my thirst will not be forever quenched.  The only one who can satisfy me is God.  “But whoever drinks of the water that I will give him will never be thirsty again.” (John 4:14)  Until I am united to God in Paradise, I will never be satisfied.  If I can keep this in mind it will help me resist temptation.  By knowing that God is my only satisfaction, instead of running after the next big thing, I will run after God.  Instead of spending time standing in line on Black Friday, I can spend time in front of the Holy Eucharist in Adoration.  Instead of setting my goal to become a millionaire, I can set my goal to become a saint.  God is calling each one of us to stop running after things of this world and find rest in Him.  He knows what our heart’s desire is and wants to fulfill it when we put our heart in His.  Heaven should be our ultimate goal and whatever we do should not hinder us in achieving that goal.

Dear Lord, I desire to one day be with you.  Help me to keep my eyes fixed on you and don’t let me forget that only you can satisfy me.  Guide me down the path of righteousness and help me to not go astray.  I will stumble and fall and forget, but don’t let me forget that you are still there ready to pick me back up. Amen.

