Happy 2016!!  Despite the fact that it’s a new year, it feels as if nothing has changed. Except that I now have to learn how to write the date all over again.  I’ll probably write 2015 fifteen times before I get back into the habit.  January 1st felt just like December 31st, but this year is different.  On December 8 Pope Francis called this new liturgical year the Year of MercyThis year we are called to focus on forgiveness and healing by experiencing God’s mercy and being merciful to others.  This year is an opportunity to build and heal our relationships, to change our soul, and to change others’ lives around us through acts of mercy.  These acts of mercy that Pope Francis has called us to perform are the corporal and spiritual works of mercy.  Over the next few weeks I will be starting a series where I am going to go in depth on how to perform the corporal and spiritual works of mercy in your daily life.

Performing these profound works are one of the biggest ways to participate in this year of Mercy.  You don’t have to do all of them.  Just pick one to work on and incorporate it into your daily life.  Just remember, God doesn’t call you to perfection, but to action.  “As one person I cannot change the world, but I can change the world of one person.” – Paul Shane Spear 

So go out there all you future world-changers and be that next Mother Teresa or St. Pope John Paul II by changing the world one person at a time!!

Lately I’ve been reading a book that was published this year on Mercy.  It is a phenomenal book and I totally recommend making it a new years resolution to read it!

