If you were to die tomorrow what would you do today?  I’m sure you’d say goodbye to family and friends, maybe eat your favorite food, and just soak in the last hours on earth.  But what would you do to prepare your soul for meeting God face-to-face?  Maybe go to Confession, do some acts of charity, or receive the Anointing of the Sick.  But we don’t know when God will call us home.  We might not have that opportunity to rush to church before we die.  So how do we prepare?

St. Dominic Savio was playing a game with his friends and someone asked him if he were to die in a few hours what would he do to prepare.  He answered, “I would continue playing ball, for I know that what I’m doing is God’s will.”  If you’re doing God’s Will, you have nothing to fear.  God has purpose for you on this earth and when you complete that purpose you will find favor in His eyes and then He will call you home.  I don’t know what that purpose is for you; I’m still trying to figure out mine.  But let’s just take it one step at a time and God will guide us through.  He might want you to just do the dishes after dinner or play a game with your sibling, or it might be as big as become a priest/nun or go on a mission trip.  No matter what we do, when we do God’s will we will be truly happy because our hearts are united with God.

Everyone will die, but our bodies will rise on the last day.  We do not know the hour we will be summoned, so we must be ready.  If you were to die tomorrow what would you do right now?  Do it today.

So you also must be ready, because the Son of Man will come at an hour when you do not expect him.” (Matthew 24:44)

“Lord, remind me how brief my time on earth will be. Remind me that my days are numbered— how fleeting my life is.” (Psalm 39:4 )

