Look at the three dots in the middle of this picture for 30 seconds.  When that time is up immediately look at a wall or piece of paper.  What do you see?  Hopefully you’re getting all excited because you see an image of Jesus on a blank wall!! 😉  Temporarily the black and white contrast burned an image in your eyes. But sadly it probably now its fading away. 😦  But that’s okay you can do it again! 🙂  Okay you’re probably rolling your eyes and wondering why I’m making you do this?  Well, it has to do with an experience I had this summer.

This summer when I helped out at Vacation Bible School, I had the opportunity to take a few moments to visit Jesus in front of the Tabernacle every night I helped out.  I had some extra time and figured I could go into church and say “Hi” to Jesus.  But by the next night I wanted to put extra effort to do it again because it made me so happy afterwards.  I looked forward for those few days to spending 10 precious moments 3 ft away from the Blessed Sacrament.  It calmed my mind and soul from the crazy day and strengthened me for the next.  I saw how important constant visits to Jesus are.  Just like how that picture burned an image in my eyes, these visits to the Blessed Sacrament burned an image of Christ on my soul.  But also similar to how the picture fades away, by the end of the next day the effect of my visit with Jesus felt like it was waning away and I wanted to go back again.  When we make Eucharistic visits, His presence leaves an imprint on our soul.  However after a while that imprint fades from the sins that follow and our soul desires to go visit him again.  You have the opportunity as a Catholic to visit Jesus in body, blood, soul, and divinity!  And not just every once in a while, but every day!  Okay so if the Pope asked you to personally come visit him in Rome wouldn’t you jump with joy on the offer?  I would.  But sometimes I forget that Jesus Christ, God, Creator of Heaven and Earth, King of all Kings is personally asking each of us to visit him every single day!  WOW!!  Now I don’t know about you but I think that tops a visit to the Pope.  It is just hard to wrap my human mind around it and I forget the extreme honor, privilege, and glory of it.  For “how great is the value of conversation with Christ in the Blessed Sacrament, for there is nothing more consoling on earth, nothing more efficacious for advancing along the road of holiness”!  (Pope Paul VI)

Eucharistic visits are so important and just one isn’t enough.  It can be hard to take the extra time out of our busy lives, even I struggle with it.  But Jesus is calling each of us and wants to spend time with you.  If you never go visit your best friend the friendship won’t grow as quickly and maybe not at all and eventually will dwindle.  You can still pray at home and talk to God throughout your day just like calling or emailing your friend, but nothing beats face to face encounters.  Likewise by visiting Christ in person frequently you will grow closer to him and one day spend eternity together.  St. John Bosco said, “Do you want the Lord to give you many graces? Visit Him often. Do you want Him to give you few graces? Visit Him rarely.  Visits to the Blessed Sacrament are powerful and an indispensable means of overcoming the attacks of the devil.  Make frequent visits to Jesus in the Blessed Sacrament and the devil will be powerless against you.”  Now go make the devil powerless against you! 😀

Please like, comment, share, and subscribe!

Picture: https://www.flickr.com/photos/52655668@N03/4966997712/

