“Time.  Time.  Never enough time.”  That is always my excuse.  “Always too busy and never enough time.”

Why?  Why are there never enough hours in the day for me?

There has always been 24 hours in the day.  Countless men and women have greatly impacted this world and they had only 24 hours each the day.  If they could fully do God’s Will and change the world with the same amount of time I have, can’t I at least accomplish the simple tasks placed before me?

God gave us just the amount of time we need.  But do I use this time wisely?  The average American watches almost five hours of TV every day.  That is three and a half months of watching television every waking hour. Each year.  And that doesn’t even include the time spent on the computer for social media, work, and correspondence.  Can you imagine?  What could be accomplished with five hours every day if we just turned off the mindless entertainment and noise on the screen?

Sometimes in an effort to make people happy and accomplish all the great tasks, it can be hard for me to say “no.”  However, if I spend all my time saying “yes” to people, events, and even my own desires, I don’t have time to say “yes” to God.  I try to cram so much into my day in order to be productive and do what I think will make me happy, but at the end of the day am I truly happy?  Or do I just feel stressed over what still needs to be done?   The busyness never ends.  There will always be more to do and tomorrow will just be another day of pursuing busyness.  Until I learn what right things God wants me to do and say “yes” to those, I will never be satisfied.

Yet how can I do the right things and be satisfied if I don’t turn off the TV and slow down enough to hear what His Will is?

I may think I am in control, but in a flash my time could be up.  In a flash how I spent my time will affect how I spend timeless eternity.  What would I do today if there is no tomorrow?  What really matters today if there is no tomorrow?  Is “my” time really so important to risk my eternity?  I don’t think at my day of judgment I will look back over my life and wish I spent more time in front of a box with moving pictures. 😉

This year I need to do a better job at using my time wisely and not getting caught up with the busyness of this modern world.  I need to learn how to say “no” to the notifications screaming at me on the phone about texts, emails, social media posting, etc.  I need to learn how to slow down and enjoy the life God gave me.  I want to slow down and enjoy the precious moments I have left with my siblings and parents before graduating.  I want to slow down and enjoy that first intake of breath each morning as a sign of another day to live fully God’s Will for me.  I want to slow down so to hear the call of Heaven to walk down the path of sainthood.

I challenge you in this New Year to join me in becoming one of those great men and women who knew how to use their time wisely.  Tear yourself away from the screen and spend time with your family.  But most importantly slow down and spend time with God.

Oh, how precious time is! Blessed are those who know how to make good use of it. Oh, if only all could understand how precious time is, undoubtedly everyone would do his best to spend it in a praiseworthy manner! ~Saint Padre Pio

Have you made any other New Year’s resolutions?  I’d love to hear in the comments below!

