Ever since Disney announced the live action movie of Beauty and the Beast was in the making, I’ve been greatly anticipating its release on March 17, 2017.

I’ve always cherished this fairy tale because Belle and the prince fall in love over time instead of in one night and Belle is an honorable role model that girls can look up to.  Beauty and the Beast is a wholesome story line and I’ve grown up loving the story.

In this way, it was hard for me to decide not to watch this new remake.  However there are three important reasons why I won’t be watching it.

1. The 2017 Beauty and the Beast film upholds homosexual feelings

Recently in the news, the director of Beauty and the Beast, Bill Condon, announced that this remake will include a gay subplot.

“LeFou,” Bill Condon said, “Is somebody who on one day wants to be Gaston and on another day wants to kiss Gaston.”

Lefou, who is Gaston’s sidekick and admirer, even supposedly has an explicit scene that “is a nice, exclusively gay moment in a Disney movie.”

I don’t know how visual or long this scene is, but I do know that through this addition to the movie, Disney is trying to show us that living a homosexual lifestyle is normal and okay.  Hollywood is trying to slowly get our minds used to the new culture, starting with the young generation through “family-friendly” movies like this.

Let’s take a step back for a minute and look at this issue deeper.

If we stop and look at every one of our great desires, we will find a correlation between them all.  Think about everything you long for deep in your heart.

Why do you desire this?

Dig deep into that desire until you reach the core.  What do you find at the end?

At the very core of our great desires is the desire to be loved.

The desire for love.

However, in this broken world we can be tempted to find love in ways that are blurred to look right.  Sometimes it can be wanting to change your gender or even wanting to have sexual intercourse with another person of the same sex.  But our soul longs for something greater and more fulfilling.

God wants to fill you with all His love.  He created you in such a way that only His love can satisfy.

God’s love is what we are looking for.

It’s when we go against God’s design like changing our gender or having sexual intercourse with the same sex, or even having sex outside of marriage, when God created a man and a woman to have sexual intercourse within the bond of marriage, that we break ourselves off from the road to God’s love.

Yes, we may be tempted to stray.  Even Jesus was tempted in the desert (Matt. 4:1-11).  Our temptations aren’t a sin, it’s when we listen and follow them that it is.  Jesus was tempted, but he resisted and said no.

Let’s resist the temptation and say no to false love.

2. Watching this movie would support something that is against God’s design

I am not going to see the 2017 Beauty and the Beast because I want Disney to know that I support something greater.  I support a deeper, fuller, purer love than they are trying to show.

You might be saying, “What’s the big deal, it’s just a kiss.”  When I first heard about this, I thought the exact same thing, but after talking with my parents we came to the decision that we have to draw the line somewhere.

If two men kissing isn’t a “big deal” what is?  What if, by the time you come to what is a big deal, you’ve become so numb to everything else it no longer seems wrong?

If we go to support this movie, we are telling Disney that we like what we see and it doesn’t bother us.  If this is the message Disney gets they will make more movies with this because they know we will pay to see it.

If it is even a bit wrong shouldn’t we stop now?

3. Whatever I do should help me get closer to Christ

I was really excited about this movie, but I won’t support something I know supports a shallow love that is against what God designed us for.  It doesn’t mean I can’t still love the story line of Beauty and the Beast.  I can still enjoy the story and watch the animated movie, but I need to ask myself:

Is it really worth going to see this new remake?

The 2017 Beauty and the Beast promotes something wrong and I am indirectly supporting it if I buy a ticket.  When I truly take time to think about it, Heaven is my ultimate goal and I should do everything I can to reach it.

Why take one step away from eternity for two hours of fleeting entertainment?

You might be whispering to yourself that I’m WAY overthinking this and getting far too deep for a child’s movie.

However, shouldn’t you and I approach everything with this attitude?  Asking yourself: whatever I am about to do, will that hinder or help my soul reach Christ?

Please don’t see this movie and support the message Disney is promoting.  Instead spread the word so that we can start standing up for what God created us to be.
Comment below or like if you’ve decided not to watch the 2017 Beauty and the Beast remake.

Picture Source: http://movies.disney.com/beauty-and-the-beast-2017

